State Birds List

This is a list of U.S. state birds chosen by each state. The tradition of selecting state birds began in 1926 when Kentucky picked the northern cardinal. Other states like Alabama, Florida, Maine, Missouri, Oregon, Texas, and Wyoming followed suit in the 1920s. They did this after a campaign by the General Federation of Women's Clubs to name official state birds. Arizona was the last state to choose its bird in 1973. The cardinal is the state bird of seven states, while the western meadowlark is the state bird of six states.

USA Word Search