Delaware State Nickname

The First State

Delaware is commonly referred to as "The First State," a nickname that highlights its historical significance as the first of the original thirteen colonies to ratify the United States Constitution on December 7, 1787. This nickname was officially adopted in 2002 by the state legislature. Delaware's pivotal role in the nation's founding, being the first to embrace the Constitution, is proudly reflected in this moniker. The state's compact size and pivotal historical contributions make "The First State" a fitting and enduring designation for Delaware, emphasizing its unique place in American history.