South Dakota State Nickname

The Mount Rushmore State

South Dakota is nicknamed the "Mount Rushmore State," a tribute to the famous Mount Rushmore National Memorial located in the Black Hills region. The nickname highlights the state's association with the iconic sculpture featuring the faces of U.S. Presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. The nickname was officially adopted on February 5, 1980, when it was signed into law by then-Governor Bill Janklow. Mount Rushmore, completed in 1941, is a symbol of American history and democracy, making the nickname a fitting representation of South Dakota's cultural and historical significance. The majestic sculpture attracts millions of visitors each year, further solidifying South Dakota's identity as the "Mount Rushmore State."